Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: What are grade levels?  (Read 2890 times)

Offline TizzyLish000

• PS Silver Member
What are grade levels?
on: April 21, 2004, 09:42:37 PM
I have been playing the piano for about 7 years,and am 14.And I have never heard of grade levels. I was reading some different questions from various people and they were writing about grade levels. What does that mean? Do you know how I would find out what grade level I am at?

:)Dhanx a bunch!
Elizabeth Moore

Offline ayahav

• PS Silver Member
Re: What are grade levels?
Reply #1 on: April 21, 2004, 09:45:43 PM
https://www.abrsm.ac.uk

i believe that's what they must've meant - or something similar.

Offline TizzyLish000

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: April 21, 2004, 10:38:39 PM
I Still have no idea what grade levels are What do you mean "that is must of been what they meant"?
Elizabeth Moore

Offline ayahav

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: April 21, 2004, 10:48:23 PM
The ABRSM has a way of classifying the level of someone's playing by a series of theory and practice tests. The average person should finish one grade a year (ideally), but some skip, and some fall short...

Offline DarkWind

• PS Silver Member
Reply #4 on: April 22, 2004, 06:24:12 AM
The ABRSM has a way of classifying the level of someone's playing by a series of theory and practice tests. The average person should finish one grade a year (ideally), but some skip, and some fall short...