Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: What note is this?  (Read 4503 times)

Offline iv76erson03

• PS Silver Member
What note is this?
on: May 10, 2008, 03:52:15 AM
Hey All! I have a complete beginner question, but this looks like the right place.

What note is this from Moonlight Sonata?:

There isn't a sharp on this key, so what do I hit? Thanks!

Offline puphead

• PS Silver Member
Re: What note is this?
Reply #1 on: May 10, 2008, 03:57:46 AM
it's B# so hit C

Offline iv76erson03

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: May 10, 2008, 04:01:02 AM
Thank you! I was confused because I didn't know why they don't just draw a C on there.

Offline general disarray

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: May 10, 2008, 04:38:39 AM
That's a good question and to answer it fully you need to study theory and harmony.  It's worth the effort.  Ask your teacher about it.
" . . . cross the ocean in a silver plane . . . see the jungle when it's wet with rain . . . "

Offline Bob

• PS Silver Member
Reply #4 on: May 10, 2008, 02:06:29 PM
Hopefully I'm reading htis right...

The first chord is a G# dominant chord.  A V7 chord in c# minor.  G# B# D# F#  Technically still a B#, although it's the same key as C natural.  I was waiting for something else to say it.

That B# is very important.  It leads up to the home base tonice note of C#.  You can see that in beat 2.

That's why your teacher will be all over you if you miss it.  It's not like playing another missed note.  That's an important note and B natural isn't the same thing at all.