Piano Forum

Topic: clementi sonatina in c  (Read 8385 times)

Offline db05

• PS Silver Member
clementi sonatina in c
on: June 25, 2008, 03:09:32 PM
I've been studying the first movement for 2 months now. I can play separate hands with no problem at speed, but with both hands i simply can't do it even at half speed. It is such an easy piece. Am baffled as to why i can't play it despite practicing and memorizing.

Help...  :'(
I'm sinking like a stone in the sea,
I'm burning like a bridge for your body

Offline emmas_dad

• PS Silver Member
Re: clementi sonatina in c
Reply #1 on: June 26, 2008, 01:41:54 PM
Maybe the problem is the easiness of the piece. I had the same problem; it's so easy, it's seems ridiculous to make any mistakes. I think I subconsciously told myself, "If you make a mistake in some this simple, you must be a lousy pianist." So I naturally tensed up, afraid to make a mistake, which of course made me mistake-prone.

If you keep making mistakes, this will reinforce your negative thoughts, and lead to further mistakes. Try letting it go for a while; play other pieces and let that one rest a little. When you go back, you'll play it with ease.

Offline syncope

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: June 26, 2008, 04:00:42 PM
maybe you should try it even slower than half the tempo and try to figure out/hear first very patiently where left comes in and right, how they interact. As soon as you understand how it works with both hands togther, and your hands get it too, gradually play little faster every few days. I think maybe impatience may be part of the problem because it seems so simple to play, but well, sometimes you have to take a step back and go through it really slowly to get it with the hands together.
Good luck!

Offline db05

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: July 07, 2008, 06:20:50 AM
Thanks for the advice. It's probably a psychological thing.