Piano Forum

Topic: Am I ready to play Chopin Ballade no. 1?  (Read 21723 times)

Offline roniman

• PS Silver Member
Am I ready to play Chopin Ballade no. 1?
on: September 25, 2008, 03:14:37 AM
Hello,

This is currently my favorite piece. Actually, it has been my favorite piece for quite some time... However, I would like to hear your opinions on how difficult it really is.

I started playing piano when I was 18 (really, really late...) and now I am 22. The problem is that I started playing when I was just starting college (engineering), so I never had the time to practice for many hours every day. My teacher was always very nice and allowed me to play any pieces I wanted, according to my level, plus she gave me some Hanon and Czerny, which I always ignored, actually, and never really spent time practicing them.
Anyway, even though I never had the time to really practice piano as much as I wanted, my teacher always said I was progressing quite well. Here are the pieces I learned:
Moonlight Sonata, first mvt. - after 3 months of piano classes. Took me one month to learn this one.
Fur Elise - after 5 months. Took me 2 months to learn.
Funeral march (the one from Chopin's sonata) - after 7 months. took me 1 month to learn.
Chopin's nocturne no. 2 - 1 month to learn
nocturne no. 1 - 2 months to learn
nocturne no. 7 - 3 months
nocturne no. 20 - a little less than a month.
Polonaise op. 40 no. 2 - 4 and a half months.
Beethoven pathetique sonata, first movement - 6 and a half months.

I don't know if I am progressing in an adequate level, I think some pieces take me even longer to complete, because I have this obsession of not moving on to the next bar until I get the current bar in a correct tempo (usually Claudio Arrau's recordings are my reference).
As I progressed in college, unfortunately I started having less and less time to practice.