Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: anyone learn by ear?  (Read 2104 times)

Offline macman1288

• PS Silver Member
anyone learn by ear?
on: May 25, 2004, 12:24:46 AM
hi, im fifteen and i have been playing piano for seven years. i got too impatiant with reading, so i basically asked my teacher not to teach me, but to teach me songs by ear. now, i have a new teacher for the past 2 years, and i regret this. i currently play fantasie impromptu, sonata pathitique, ragtime, some other songs and im currently learning rachmaninoff piano concerto no.3 ..unfortunately i have leanred this by ear which makes it difficult to have a large rep of songs. has anyone learned how to read really fast just by teaching themselves? or do you just need to be patient?

Offline monk

• PS Silver Member
Re: anyone learn by ear?
Reply #1 on: May 25, 2004, 01:46:16 AM
PATIENCE.

DILIGENCY.

DISCIPLINE.

And don't call them "songs", please. That's layman's terminology. Piano pieces are called PIECES. Songs are pieces who are sung.

Have your teacher show you how to read music. It's really simple, but you have to be SERIOUS and HONEST. That means: Begin with very simple pieces and sight-read them. And always ensure that you are really reading the notes and not playing from memory! Look up one note, play it, then look up the next note, play it...Never try to fake. Bear in mind that the assignment is not to play the piece right (that is no problem for you, we all know) but to really read notes. And do it every day.