Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Liszt's Bénédiction de Dieu dans la Solitude  (Read 16018 times)

Offline cloches_de_geneve

• PS Silver Member
Liszt's Bénédiction de Dieu dans la Solitude
on: November 02, 2008, 06:09:15 PM
I think this is among Liszt's most striking piano compositions (he liked it himself and played it often for visitors), and yet it seems quite rarely learned or performed today. I started learning it over year ago, then put it aside, because I found it hard to read and to memorize. Now I am back trying to learn the second and third part of it.

Does anyone know/play this piece? How does it compare in terms of difficulty to more frequently played Liszt pieces such as Ballade 2, Funérailles, Concert Etudes, Valleé d'Oberman?
"It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it." -- Glenn Gould

Offline mikey6

• PS Silver Member
Re: Liszt's Bénédiction de Dieu dans la Solitude
Reply #1 on: November 03, 2008, 03:00:34 PM
I'm learning it at the moment.  It's a wonderful piece, Kentner has a great recording of it.
It's a big work so getting a good idea of the scope of the piece is relatively important.