Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Question about Chopin Interpretation  (Read 3261 times)

Offline gregh87

• PS Silver Member
Question about Chopin Interpretation
on: December 09, 2008, 04:57:13 AM
I just started learning Chopin's 3rd Sonata, and it is very quickly becoming my favorite piece.  I have a question about rolled chords:

I have pretty large hands (I can reach an 11th with my left), and I can play all the tenths in the first movement without rolling the chords.  I prefer not to roll the chords, but a bunch of chords are written as rolled.

What are people's opinions about making minor changes like playing rolled chords solidly in interpreting Chopin?  Is it possible Chopin wrote the 10ths as rolled so the piece would be more accessible?

Offline communist

• PS Silver Member
Re: Question about Chopin Interpretation
Reply #1 on: December 09, 2008, 06:12:43 PM
i would think it depends if you think it should be rolled or not
"The stock markets go up and down, Bach only goes up"

-Vladimir Feltsman

Offline mike_lang

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: December 10, 2008, 02:10:36 PM
What are people's opinions about making minor changes like playing rolled chords solidly in interpreting Chopin?  Is it possible Chopin wrote the 10ths as rolled so the piece would be more accessible?