Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Argh Im not getting anywhere in Hungarian Rhapsody no. 6  (Read 9009 times)

Offline ryan2189

• PS Silver Member
So I have been learning this piece for over six months now and I am at this point where nothing feels like it's improving. There are always these very few small minute things that seem to get better, but as a whole I am not getting anywhere. The most challenging part of this piece is obviously the end Friska section, where there are nothing but octaves. I get so tired and can not play any parts nicely. There have been days and even a whole span of a week where I really thought that I had it, and that I was over that hill and could get this damned piece finished with. I practice tons of rhythms on all the sections, even those that are not in the Friska. But I still don't feel a sense of complete relaxation, or else I would at least be able to get through it. I don't think that I over exemplify my movements, rather I'm trying to be as conservative as possible, because I know that wasting energy is what will cause an even greater decrease in stamina. This piece is depressing me. Since my last lesson, I have been to the practice rooms every day for a good amount of time, and the results are lacking. I have my next lesson on Tuesday and I am nervous because my professor was commenting poorly on my playing last week. I would love to put this piece down for a bit but you see I can't. I am supposed to be playing this is a concert at the end of April and I have nothing else to play instead even if I were to drop the Rhapsody. I would love to be able to play this piece well both for the satisfaction and