Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Skipping Grades  (Read 8415 times)

Offline meli

• PS Silver Member
Skipping Grades
on: June 11, 2009, 04:55:19 AM
Hi everyone, I am a new teacher (2 years) and recently a mother asked me if her daughter (grade 1) had to take the next grade exam i.e. why not skip to grade 3, 4 or even 5 if she is ready. I think what the mother was implying, was do I need to spend so much $ on exams AND lessons, if my daughter can make it to grade 3 in 1 year. This is quite new to me, as I am not used to skipping grades. I thought about the rational behind it, when I learn't piano (ABRSM) I took 1 year to reach each grade! Now it feels like a long time for each grade. I could have just taken 3 exams (grd 1, 3 & 5) and spend less money too. Do you do this with your students and what are the advantages and disadvantages of skipping grades?

Offline go12_3

• PS Silver Member
Re: Skipping Grades
Reply #1 on: June 11, 2009, 05:12:14 AM
It depends upon the student's skills and abilities on the keyboard.  I am not quite sure about the *skipping grades* concept.  I feel that technique, theory and skills that is introduced needs to be done step by step, in increments, so to speak.  Some students excel quickly than others.  If a student progress at a rapid rate, it may seem feasible to skip a grade.  For me I am not familiar with that, so I may not be of help to you, meli.  But, do what you think is best for your student and that she is comfortable in the grade that she is in; I think that would be the most important issue to look into before considering skipping a grade to save cost and time. 

best wishes,

go12_3