Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: How to become a composer?  (Read 2381 times)

Offline ore

• PS Silver Member
How to become a composer?
on: November 30, 2002, 05:51:12 AM
Hello, I'm a 19 years old student in Hong Kong.I have learnt to play the piano for 15 years.But my family didn't want me to learn it in the university.So,I think that I have no chance to become a pianist now. :'(
However, I really want to become a musician.So,I would like to ask that are there any competitions of compose?I think that if I can join it and win a prize,maybe I can become a composer :)
Would anyone tell me please?Thanks!

Offline pskim

• PS Silver Member
Re: How to become a composer?
Reply #1 on: November 30, 2002, 03:54:38 PM
why don't you decide what you want to do dispite your parents' objections?  It is your life and you should do what you want to do and not regreting it in your later years.

As for competitions, do a search with your internet and you will find tons of them.  Good luck.

Offline ore

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: November 30, 2002, 08:06:48 PM
Thanks! :)

Offline ludwig

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: December 29, 2002, 03:27:31 PM

Hey Ore, welcome,