Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: your favorite method books!  (Read 4646 times)

Offline berniano

• PS Silver Member
your favorite method books!
on: March 20, 2010, 03:15:56 AM
Teachers of piano,

What are your favorite method books for teaching beginners, and why? I have been teaching for about five years now (bc I'm in highschool), and originally started by using the Bastien method books, which I learned the basics from. However, after two years, I just couldn't take the repetition and (in my opinion) dryness of the compositions, even when using the duets in lessons. My students never seemed to thrive on them either. Then, about two yrs ago, I basically tossed out the Bastien, and bought a whole new set of Faber piano adventures--- which so far my students love!! Which makes teaching young beginners so much easier for me too..... :). The compositions are much more interesting to teach and (obviously) to practice........I don't dread teaching anymore, and most of my students seem to enjoy their lessons quite alot. But, now the point of this post wasn't to rat on Bastien, which I know many teachers have had alot of success with..........I just want some opinions since currently I'm unfamiliar with alot of teaching methods besides Bastien and Faber.  And......... since I'm going to school for piano next year, it looks like I'll be teaching for quite a while to come too ;D. Advice and opinions?    Berniano

Offline go12_3

• PS Silver Member
Re: your favorite method books!
Reply #1 on: March 20, 2010, 01:30:10 PM
I don't use any Method books, my students learn enough method from me.  =)
Yesterday was the day that passed,