Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Chopin Prelude 15 - fingers!  (Read 15325 times)

Offline dss62467

• PS Silver Member
Chopin Prelude 15 - fingers!
on: May 20, 2010, 12:24:03 AM
I just started learning Prelude 15 last night and there's a chord in the 9th measure that is not meant for hands my size.

D flat - C - F.    Is it acceptable to play the F with my right thumb while I play the F with my right hand?  My version has it as a rolled chord, but still, that's a stretch for me.   I don't want to spend the week practicing it that way and have my teacher say "nope".

Currently learning:
Chopin Prelude Op. 28, no. 15
Schubert Sonata in A Major, D.959: Allegretto

Offline stevebob

• PS Silver Member
Re: Chopin Prelude 15 - fingers!
Reply #1 on: May 20, 2010, 01:04:17 AM
There's not really a definitive answer about what's acceptable, so it's hard to predict what your teacher will suggest.  Personally, I think that a solid chord is way preferable at this spot to a rolled one.  My choice, then, would be to take the F with the right hand.  Your teacher might feel otherwise.  :)

Have you checked out any performance videos by professionals on YouTube to see if you can spot how the chord is typically handled?  I wouldn't be surprised to find that many pianists have the same limited hand span.  (I know I do; I can reach a major tenth comfortably as long as it's white key to white key or black key to black key, but it doesn't work when it's black-to-white or vice versa.)
What passes you ain't for you.

Offline dss62467

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: May 20, 2010, 10:56:23 AM