Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: New student trained by Suzuki  (Read 2172 times)

Offline ltw5150

• PS Silver Member
New student trained by Suzuki
on: September 05, 2010, 02:59:42 AM
I teach piano to a few students in my neighborhood as a side-job and I love it very much.  The parents I have simply want their kids to have some piano lessons and to enjoy learning music.  I'm not a professional by any means but I can introduce new students to the piano and make it fun.
Another neighbor asked me to teach her seven year old daughter.  She had been going to another teacher who was Chinese like her family is, but my neighbor was getting tired of the drive (45 minutes one way).  Today, this little girl came in and played some songs for me and I was amazed!  She was playing at middle-school level!  As the lesson went on, I discovered that she did not know her notes on the staff at all and was basically playing these songs based on hand position alone.  I had never seen this before and since discovered that she had been trained in the Suzuki method and I have now done the research to get a basic understanding of it.
My question is this - I have no idea what to do.  I feel I need to teach her how to properly read music but (a) have no idea how to go back and re-train someone, (b) am afraid she will hate coming to piano lessons!  Has anyone ever dealt with this situation before?  And how did you handle it?