no
3 (18.8%)
yes
10 (62.5%)
play harder peices to work up to it.
3 (18.8%)

Total Members Voted: 16

The Complete Piano Works of 16 Composers
Piano Street’s digital sheet music library is constantly growing. With the additions made during the past months, we now offer the complete solo piano works by sixteen of the most famous Classical, Romantic and Impressionist composers in the web’s most pianist friendly user interface. Read more >>

Topic: Is this peice too hard to play?  (Read 4186 times)

Offline ivorybabe247

• PS Silver Member
Is this peice too hard to play?
on: November 14, 2010, 11:56:42 PM
I really want to play the first movement of Waldstein by beethoven for my senior performance, it is quite lengthy so i would have to downsize it in some areas. I am a sophomore in high school. I'm very drawn to this peice.  I am playing scherzo by medelshon this year and Chopin's Waltz in A flat major next year. if i start on waldstien next year, playing it for two years, should i be able to pull this off??

Offline thalbergmad

• PS Silver Member
Re: Is this peice too hard to play?
Reply #1 on: November 15, 2010, 12:03:05 AM
it is quite lengthy so i would have to downsize it in some areas.

If you need to this, I would suggest you leave it alone.

Thal
Curator/Director
Concerto Preservation Society

Offline hansscherff

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: November 15, 2010, 11:50:35 AM
I really want to play the first movement of Waldstein by beethoven for my senior performance, it is quite lengthy so i would have to downsize it in some areas. I am a sophomore in high school. I'm very drawn to this peice.  I am playing scherzo by medelshon this year and Chopin's Waltz in A flat major next year. if i start on waldstien next year, playing it for two years, should i be able to pull this off??

If you are going to dedicate two years to a single piece, i think chances are big you will detest it once you can play it.

Offline birba

• PS Silver Member