Piano Forum

Does Rachmaninoff Touch Your Heart?
Today, with smartwatches and everyday electronics, it is increasingly common to measure training results, heart rate, calorie consumption, and overall health. But monitoring heart rate of pianists and audience can reveal interesting insights on several other aspects within the musical field. Read more >>

Topic: Cold Hands  (Read 5943 times)

Offline Fhugo

• PS Silver Member
Cold Hands
on: July 29, 2004, 03:45:29 AM
Hi there,
First of all, I am sorry if this subject has alredy been discussed on the forum, anyway I cant seem to find anything on it with the search tool, so here goes:

I am a teenager piano student, and I just got out of puberty. The thing is during puberty my hands started to get really cold, and i find that to be really bad to my performance, not to mention anything about muscle lesion. I started a Gingko (Biloba) and vitamin b12 diet to start pumping more blood to my extremities about 8 weeks ago and nothing improved so far. Does anyone have any suggestions? Anything goes really, Im quite desperate.
Since I live in a tropical country, winters can be very cold indeed and do go below zero most of the time, but we do not have the heaters tradition, so I wonder if heaters really do a satisfying job for you pianists living by the poles?

Thnks a lot for reading -

felix

Offline donjuan

• PS Silver Member
Re: Cold Hands
Reply #1 on: July 29, 2004, 05:09:09 AM
Welcome to the forum, Felix!
here is the thread that existed before:

https://www.pianoforum.net/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=perf;action=display;num=1082893749

I suggest you read through it and read Bernhard's advice.  His excercise is expecially helpful, even for me up here in Canada, eh?  Our temperatures drop down pretty dramatically as well..

I still prefer to use hand dryers from public washrooms - Before my performance at competitions I always run off to the bathroom to use the dryer.
donjuan

Offline Rach3

• PS Silver Member