Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Chopin Prelude Op. 28 No.7  (Read 9738 times)

Offline samthegreat4

• PS Silver Member
Chopin Prelude Op. 28 No.7
on: January 20, 2011, 08:17:42 PM
Hey Guys,

I'm quite new here, so I'll introduce myself briefly.
Hello, I'm Sam, 17 years old(male), and I live in the Netherlands.
I started of by playing Alto-Sax, then I went on to play the piano some 5 years ago (self-taught).
I also play the guitar, but that's not of much relevance as this is a pianoforum.. ;D
How's that for a brief intro!

Here goes my first post: Chopin's prelude Op.28 No.7
Now I listen to it, I find it played a bit too fast and the grace note played a bit too loud in the penultimate measure. Also maybe the bass should be a bit quieter. But that's things you find out when you listen to it after recording :P..

Greets,
Sam

Offline ramseytheii

• PS Silver Member
Re: Chopin Prelude Op. 28 No.7
Reply #1 on: January 21, 2011, 03:08:54 AM
It's nice.  It's not too fast.

Why does everyone think this prelude needs to be played at the speed of a funeral march?
(At least everyone on pianoforum.  Yes, everyone.  I linked to all their recordings to prove my point several months ago.)

Walter Ramsey

Offline stevebob

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: January 21, 2011, 03:27:50 AM
I agree with Walter.  That was nice (and most definitely not too fast for the prescribed Andantino).
What passes you ain't for you.

Offline rachfan

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: January 21, 2011, 05:22:13 AM
Hi sam,