Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Practising on electric piano  (Read 1943 times)

Offline thelonious_monk

• PS Silver Member
Practising on electric piano
on: January 21, 2011, 11:17:00 PM
Hi everyone!

I've registered at this web just a few minutes ago, so I hope I'm posting this in the right section :-O

Well, I am a piano student, first seven years of my education I spent at one private teacher. The fail was that she couldn't (and still can't) really play the piano - she has the approbation for accordion and electronic keyboards... She never told me anything about the right piano touch and things like that. Yes, it was my problem that I lasted so long at her, but I didn't know there was anything wrong.

However, two years ago I changed the teacher. The new one gave me a lot, she introduced me to the real piano world - showed the beauty of classical piano music, taught me new technical skills...

That's my story, and now about my problem - I never had the grand piano and not even the upright at home. I have Korg SP-250, electric piano with hammer mechanic. It is really a good thing for me as I am rather jazz pianist than the classical one... But it's very difficult for me to play at the lesson on the grand - firstly, my hands (or fingers) are too weak. Although after reading some studies about physiology of piano playing I think it's rather because of my bad technique. And secondly, my fingertips are not firm enough - my tone at acoustic piano is ugly and not concrete. (You know, Korg sounds always great ;) )