Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Advice for Pavane pour une Infante Defunte?  (Read 10542 times)

Offline krysjez

• PS Silver Member
Advice for Pavane pour une Infante Defunte?
on: February 11, 2011, 01:51:40 PM
Hi everyone,

My first post here, looking forward to being part of this community :)

I just started learning Ravel's Pavane pour une Infante Defunte today, some sight-reading through the first page. So far what I can tell is there are two layers of music for the right hand - an outer 'main' melody and the inner supporting staccato notes.

My problem now is with making the main melody sound clearer. Is there some kind of weight distribution thing to take note of when playing, so that the top notes ring out while the inner supporting melody stays subdued? Is it just a matter of training my pinky to be more independent of the other fingers?

Have stopped learning piano for 2 years (stopped at Gr. 8 ) and am now messing around on my own, so all help much appreciated :)

Offline jimbo320

• PS Silver Member
Re: Advice for Pavane pour une Infante Defunte?
Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 03:03:58 PM
Hi Krysjez,
Welcome to the forum. It's hard to train any finger to do a duplet let alone the 5th finger. That's what your talking about here. Playing a note strong following by repeating it softer.
Just keep practicing. No shortcut that I know of...

Musically, Jimbo
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\"Music is art from the heart. Let it fly\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\"...

Offline birba

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: February 12, 2011, 03:07:01 PM