Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: What makes a good teacher.  (Read 8406 times)

Offline becky8898

• PS Silver Member
What makes a good teacher.
on: February 19, 2011, 11:01:11 PM
HI everyone: If this topic has been covered already then sorry for wasting your time. but, I looked thru 10 pages of posts back and didnt see anything on it.  As some of you might know im a student not a teacher.  Some people think I play the piano OK, maybe a little better than OK. So here is the thing. I get questions all the time from Moms on my block, or at school, or Church or at my recitals , etc. about there own kids.  You know when should they start lessons, how did I get to be good, could I listen to little johnny or Sandra, what do I think? A whole bunch of stuff like that. I try so hard not to be rude, but I consider myself totally , completely , fully , with out a doubt unqualified to answer any of these questions. Im not yet quite 13, so what if I play well. 

Well the point is, it got me thinking,  I know that someday I will do some kind of piano teaching, even all the greatest pianists teach.( Not that Im a great pianist ). So here it is,   what are the minimum qualifications that someone needs to teach piano correctly. I have broken down what I think are reasonable categories for different levels of student. 

Category 1 - Beginner student.
Category 2 - intermediate student
Category 3 - Advanced Student
Category 4 - Master Class Student.

I know here in the states no license is needed to teach piano, so anyone can teach piano no matter how unqualified they are.  And I have seen enough of my friends have teachers like that.