Piano Forum

The ABRSM 2025 & 2026 – Expanding the Musical Horizon
The highly anticipated biennial releases of the ABRSM’s new syllabus publications are a significant event in the world of piano education, regardless of whether one chooses to participate in or teach the graded exams. Read more >>

Topic: To program a war horse or not: Chopin Opus 53  (Read 5303 times)

Offline gvans

To program a war horse or not: Chopin Opus 53
on: March 03, 2011, 03:29:17 AM
I'm primarily a chamber music pianist, but I've been working on a solo concert program. I'll play it at several venues this fall. A violinist I work with talked me into playing shorter pieces rather than the three sonatas I originally envisioned--easier on the audience, in his opinion.

Here's the proposed program: Beethoven opus 26 (the only sonata), four works by Chopin, (the first Impromptu, op. 10 #3 and #12, and, ending the first half, the Ab polonaise, op. 53). Intermission. Brahms op. 79 (two rhapsodies), Liszt Db "Un Sospiro" (happy 200th, Franz), and Debussy Estampes.

This same fiddle player heard me play the polonaise and insisted I include it. My question to the
piano forum: Is performing this beating a dead horse, or not? There was a time, surely, when the "Heroic" was overplayed; yet in 2011, with our electronic-overloaded, iPod-earphoned audiences here in S. California, perhaps less. A dean in grad school years ago once told me never to perform the thing, he'd heard it too many times and thought it ruined by exposure.

I try to bring a fresh approach to the work; I've been playing Chopin with a lighter touch these days, keeping the tempos under control, using less pedal. The composer is famously said to have complained upon hearing someone play the octave section overly rapidly. Years ago I did play it too fast--especially those E/Eb octaves. But still--a war horse is a war horse.