Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Hanon Exercise #1 extreme left hand stress  (Read 9026 times)

Offline hawkranger

• PS Silver Member
Hanon Exercise #1 extreme left hand stress
on: May 23, 2011, 08:34:38 PM
Hey guys how r u all?
ok i have been playing keyboards for nearly 6 years now with my band but never practiced properly so when i decided to get started i found that i should start with Hanon book
and here when i started the #1 exercise my right hand was as expected can do the exercise at 108 tempo from first try
but the left hand after going throw exercise #1 two times at tempo of 60 i felt extreme stress and as expected "i think" the pinky and ring fingers are extremely weak
is this normal or maybe am doing something wrong with my left hand
i checked couple of vids on youtube to see the positioning and how the left hand work it seemed pretty normal to me but 2 times and i already had to stop for about 30 sec to try again and then 2 times and 30 sec rest
is this normal??
thanx for the info :)

Offline jeffkonkol

• PS Gold Member
Re: Hanon Exercise #1 extreme left hand stress
Reply #1 on: May 23, 2011, 09:37:18 PM
I wouldn't call it quite normal, but I wouldn't stress about it just yet.  Depending on the genre of your band, you simply may not have gotten much left hand work at all other than held octave chords... and keyboard action, depending on the board, is a lot different than a piano.

drop the right hand entirely just to remove any stress related to syncing the two hands out of the equation.  60 is probably a good tempo to stick to for a bit.