Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: What's wrong with Hanon?  (Read 8474 times)

Offline Nana_Ama

• PS Silver Member
What's wrong with Hanon?
on: August 22, 2004, 06:11:59 AM
Honestly I don't understand why Hannon is bad. I am relatively new to piano, I've only been laying for two years.  Some I've looked through the forum and I noticed that some people love Hannon while others dislike Hannon.  Why is it bad?  Why is it good?  I am really confused  ??? ::) ???

-Nana Ama
I scare people; people scare me; it's a mutual thing!!!

Offline Nana_Ama

• PS Silver Member
Re: What's wrong with Hannon?
Reply #1 on: August 22, 2004, 06:14:18 AM
Did I spell that right... somehow it looks wrong :-/
I scare people; people scare me; it's a mutual thing!!!

Offline pies

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: August 22, 2004, 07:19:47 AM
­

Offline robert_henry

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: August 22, 2004, 08:28:40 AM
For once, Bernhard and I might slightly disagree on something.  Or do we?  Stay tuned and find out!

Honestly, I don't understand the problem with Hanon itself.  Most of the book is standard stuff, with the usual rounds of scales in all keys, in double-thirds, double-sixths, octaves, arpeggios, tremolos, and chords.  These are things that are common to many methods and technique books, and are not optional as far as I'm concerned (except for scales in double-sixths...I never learned those, but don't tell anyone).

I think the area of discord concerns the first 30 or so exercises, and it should be understood that I now talking about these 30 for the remainder of this post.