Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: what is your philosophy of teaching music?  (Read 2025 times)

Offline fenz

• PS Silver Member
what is your philosophy of teaching music?
on: October 16, 2011, 11:20:01 AM
i wonder what is your philosophy of teaching music? i have thought about it over and over. for me, the main purpose i'm studying or teaching music is to enrich the soul, make me or other person better, and give positive effect to our life. although i know that perfection in playing music is very important, but seeking for the perfection and ignore the other purposes of learning music is useless. what about you?

thank you  :)
Hope someday I'll be a good pianist ^.^

Offline miriamko

• PS Silver Member
Re: what is your philosophy of teaching music?
Reply #1 on: October 16, 2011, 09:06:38 PM
I believe that we must teach our students to be as competent as they possibly can, in order to be able to enjoy the many joys of music making. Piano duets ,six hands, two pianos, chamber music with other instruments ,accompanying are all uplifting musical experiences which can be attained only when the student has reached a high level of pianistic abilities and understanding of what he is playing. That is my goal as a piano teacher. I'm not sure that is a philosophy.

Offline fenz

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: October 20, 2011, 12:16:40 PM