Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Is it too late for me?  (Read 1812 times)

Offline virtuoso80

• PS Silver Member
Is it too late for me?
on: February 11, 2012, 09:39:08 PM
I'm 31 years old. I was mostly self-taught until college. When I first got to college, I was very bothered by the training method, and rejected some of what my teachers asked of me (I still don't like some of it). I taught lessons for a few years, then went back to college to finish my BA. I had practiced and improved over the years, but was still well eclipsed by some undergrads. I've been out of school now, and teaching again, and my playing is certainly better than ever. Problem is: I'm 31. If I were this good and 18, it might be reasonable to think I could have a future in music, although I'd probably still have to bust my butt to get into a top undergrad piano program like Julliard with this level of technique, and I'm certainly not up to the level of most grad students at a decent program.