Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: VIDEO: Chopin Nocturne Op. 9 No. 2  (Read 8879 times)

Offline tekime

• PS Silver Member
VIDEO: Chopin Nocturne Op. 9 No. 2
on: February 19, 2012, 10:54:04 PM
I finally made my way through the last bit of this piece a few weeks ago, and decided to take a little video today. I still have much practice remaining, but any feedback you have would be appreciated.

So far this is only the second piece in my repertoire (if one can even consider themselves as having a repertoire when it consists of only two pieces!). That said, I'm a total amateur but I would still like to play this piece well eventually. Although I have my own style of playing I also want to be true to Chopin's vision of this piece and feel I still have a ways to go (even aside from a few obvious technical flukes I have yet to remedy).

[/youtube]

Anyway, enough blathering. My apologies for the audio quality - you can hear the keys clacking away, and the general quality is far from professional - but I recorded this on my iPhone by duct-taping it to my bookshelf.  :-[

I know the guidelines say an acoustic piano is preferable, but this is all I've got. Trust me, I'd much prefer playing on a nice grand! ;)

Thanks so much for any feedback you might have!

Gabe

Offline faj

• PS Silver Member
Re: VIDEO: Chopin Nocturne Op. 9 No. 2
Reply #1 on: February 20, 2012, 05:51:43 AM
Having know this is your 2nd repertoire, you are amazing!
It's not easy to play this piece as beautiful as yours, but you already have everything.