Piano Forum

Does Rachmaninoff Touch Your Heart?
Today, with smartwatches and everyday electronics, it is increasingly common to measure training results, heart rate, calorie consumption, and overall health. But monitoring heart rate of pianists and audience can reveal interesting insights on several other aspects within the musical field. Read more >>

Topic: Uh well  (Read 1843 times)

Offline perprocrastinate

• PS Silver Member
Uh well
on: July 08, 2012, 10:46:29 PM
In two months I'll be making a fool out of myself by having to present to my friend 3 Chopin Etudes (don't worry ajspiano, I'm still going to work hard on those Bach Inventions), which will probably not be fully developed to a good degree.

I was showing him some Alkan works that I believed to be difficult, and he stated them to be overrated in difficulty, then fishing out my obsession with virtuosity. Then I just had to be an idiot and flaunt my ego, trying to prove that I'm not a totally failed self taught amateur pianist.

His response to Comme Le Vent was that I was unnecessarily defacating bricks about it.

"basically a whole lot of trills and not many difficult transitions"

Have I been looking at pieces the wrong way all this time, and a no better judge than an online IQ test?

But anyways, yeah. Totally looking forward to being a laughingstock. Hey, I'll show you guys the recordings too.

Offline ajspiano

• PS Silver Member
Re: Uh well
Reply #1 on: July 09, 2012, 02:10:18 AM
"probably not be fully developed to a good degree" 3 in two months - technique isnt the only thing to develop here.. these piece mature on a musical level, your interpretation gains quality over extended periods of time... 2 months is kind of nutty to consider the possibilty of fully developing them, perhaps even for a professional pianist - I'm curious as to which ones you plan on presenting.. and what you're going to do it you injure yourself trying to get there..?