Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Releasing an Album of Original Compositions  (Read 1181 times)

Offline chopinlover23

• PS Silver Member
Releasing an Album of Original Compositions
on: July 10, 2012, 01:59:26 PM
Hi, I'm an amateur pianist + composer, I've been composing my own music since I was about 13, I'm almost 15 now and I was dwelling on the thought of releasing an album of my original compositions so people could hear them. Few Questions?

1. I have a lot of compositions, so where do I start? Do I need a license of some sort (I live in the Philippines)
2. I was thinking, what if other people dont like it? My family loves all my compositions not because I'm part of the family but because they love the music I'm making, but for other people what if they dont like it?
3. Am I dreaming too big? Is it possible that I can do it?
4. How do I get a record label to sign me as an artist, I was thinking of sending demos to independent record labels, or I could make the CD and recordings and have a record company duplicate it then release it?

Please take the time to answer my queries. It would be a big help! =)

Offline ichky

• PS Silver Member
Re: Releasing an Album of Original Compositions
Reply #1 on: July 11, 2012, 01:51:09 PM
Hi Chopinlove,

First of all I would like to say well done and that I'm proud of you. Being only 15 years old, it is a big achievement to have composed your own music already.