Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Now I'm an organ teacher, can it affect my piano technique and studying?  (Read 9762 times)

Offline wilsonl

• PS Silver Member
I'm asked by my church to teach organ to create new generation of church organist.

But I know that organ techniques are very different with piano techniques. I'm still learning classical piano (8th grade). As a teacher, of course I must give my students examples how to play organ, it means everyday my fingers will 'dance' on organ keys.
I afraid that it can affect my piano skill especially on dynamics techniques and... everything.
Is that true?

Regard,
Wilson L.  :)

Offline j_menz

• PS Silver Member
I'm assuming since you are being asked to teach the organ, you already play it, and presumably to a reasonably high standard. 

If that hasn't affected your piano playing, I don't see how teaching it will.
"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility. There are so few of us left" -- Oscar Levant

Offline wilsonl

• PS Silver Member
I'm assuming since you are being asked to teach the organ, you already play it, and presumably to a reasonably high standard. 

If that hasn't affected your piano playing, I don't see how teaching it will.

Yeah, but I rarely playing organ on church. But my church know that I'm 8th grade piano student, so I' asked to teach organ. Even I don't know what's the first lesson I must give to them.

Offline 49410enrique

• PS Silver Member
it shouldn't. i had to minor in organ as part of my piano major (i now see why so many piano students minored in voice, omg organ is so difficutl!..i digress).