Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Some questions about scales  (Read 2292 times)

Offline skeys

Some questions about scales
on: August 12, 2012, 02:14:35 AM
Hey everyone, I just started playing keyboard recently and I had some questions about scales and finger technique. I asked my friend who has been playing for about 15 years and he gave me some tips but I wanted to get some other opinions because I know there isn't ever a real consensus on "proper" technique. So the main points that he told me were.....

- Keep all your fingers down lightly touching the keys and only lift them to change to a new position

- When you change to a new position make sure you instantly have all your fingers ready on the new keys rather than allowing them to stay lifted

- Keep your fingers as far down as they can be while still touching the black keys

So my question is do you guys agree or disagree with this and do you have anything to add? I would greatly appreciate your help as I don't want to spend a bunch of time practicing it that way only to figure out it's not optimal. I am able to play my scales this way from C to B major but once I hit F sharp major it becomes kind of hard to keep your fingers touching the keys: I'm finding it very tempting to lift them. Again any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!!

Edit: By the way, sorry I put this in the teaching section I just realized there is a student section.

Offline mcdiddy1

• PS Silver Member
Re: Some questions about scales
Reply #1 on: August 12, 2012, 02:44:22 PM