Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Impromptu, Gb Major, Op 90 No.3  (Read 3862 times)

Offline melia

• PS Silver Member
Impromptu, Gb Major, Op 90 No.3
on: October 19, 2004, 05:04:48 AM
Does anyone have any tips or exercises to learn on how to play this piece well? I thought I'd give it a try as it sounds deceivingly simple. How WRONG I was! My right hand is giving me trouble, especially those inner running notes. Should they be played softly and evenly so the melody can be heard? When I play slowly, they are either too loud or harsh, but when I speed up, some of them are inaudible! Either way the melody is totally ruined! HELP! I have been practicing this piece for over 4 months (don't laugh) now, but I'm still not happy with it. I love this piece for it's beautiful melody but I find it the most challenging, and is really testing my patience!  :( Has anyone really mastered this piece, what tips can you give?? I HAVE to get it right!

Offline rohansahai

• PS Silver Member
Re: Impromptu, Gb Major, Op 90 No.3
Reply #1 on: October 19, 2004, 06:06:23 AM
hmm, well, instead of repeating the same thing about practicing separate hands n putting more weight on the little finger, all i can add is that u can press the left pedal just after you play the long note containing the melody. I've never worked on it so i can't say much.
Waste of time -- do not read signatures.

Offline bernhard

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: October 19, 2004, 06:14:58 PM