Piano Forum

Topic: Practise: what do you expect of students?  (Read 2669 times)

Offline katefarquharson

• PS Silver Member
Practise: what do you expect of students?
on: December 14, 2012, 12:06:02 PM
Hello!

I have gone back to lessons (I'm 18) after a 1 1/2 year break. A lot has gone on and changed in the past 2 years so I'm not really the same as I was before when I was a Junior student at trinity. I was rather talented at sidestepping! Somehow I hardly had to practise during the week to impress my teacher, I somehow just managed to waltz into the room, sit down and play something 100 times better than the last lesson... strange...

But that's obviously not a good thing because I wasn't really improving as much as I could have been if I had worked hard. So now I am practising everyday, trying very hard to fix all of the bad habits I have picked up from not having lessons. I am applying to the conservatoire where I have my lessons, to do a major in music so it is kind of crunch time. He has said that I need to sort this all out or I won't get in (he is a senior lecturer who is a part of the audition process)

My Teacher is a little fed up with me, I tend to make the same mistakes every week (despite working on them at home!) with pretty much every piece I do, the same patterns coming up all the time (not knowing what fingering I'm using, articulation, pedalling etc.)

So he has said I really need to improve my practise quality over the long holiday. I've figured out all the different things I need to work on, on paper it looks simple but I think putting it into action will be difficult. I really need to start being able to finish pieces, nicely polished and performance ready because I think it's about time I start doing performances (shock horror!) and competitions.