Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: New Kawai K3 sustain pedal  (Read 7112 times)

Offline ttttrigg3r

• PS Silver Member
New Kawai K3 sustain pedal
on: June 19, 2013, 12:54:30 AM
Hello my name is Tuan and this is my first post.  Quick question
I am new to pianos, and I just bought a brand new Kawai K3.  My question is when the sustain pedal is pressed all the way down, is the note supposed to be sustained as if the key is still pressed down?  I've observed the following with my piano.
    When I hit a note and hold it down, the sound sustains.  When I hold down the pedal and hit the same note with staccato with almost the same amount of force,  the sound does not sustain as bright and loud, and it ends a tad earlier than when I hold the note down. Is this normal or not?
   When I play on my DP Yamaha Arius, the sustain pedal gives the same sound and sustain as when I hold a key down.  I've only owned my K3 for 2 weeks now, so thought I'd ask. Do you think my pedal needs adjustment?

Offline hfmadopter

• PS Silver Member
Re: New Kawai K3 sustain pedal
Reply #1 on: June 19, 2013, 08:39:24 AM