Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Best tuning and stretch for a "typical" upright - [TuneLab]  (Read 11894 times)

Offline pinkfloydhomer

• PS Silver Member
Hello brilliant people :)

I am an amateur who is trying to learn to tune my own Nordiska 120 upright. I have been practicing for about 4 months now using TuneLab for Android, slowly getting better.

So far, I have just used the standard settings for tuning curve, deviation curve, bass and treble partial intervals (4:1, 6:3 etc) and default equal temperament.

I am considering trying EBVT III and maybe tinkering with the tuning curve by using something other than the default 4:1, 6:3 octaves.

In your experience, can EBVT III or some other non-equal temperament be recommended specifically for tuning an upright (rather than a grand)?

In your experience, can some specific octaves (for example 8:1 in the bass, 4:2 in the treble) be recommended specifically for tuning an upright (rather than a grand)?

What kind of difference does 8:1 vs 6:3 in the bass do to the tuning? How is the difference perceived by the listener?

Offline justharmony

• PS Silver Member
Re: Best tuning and stretch for a "typical" upright - [TuneLab]
Reply #1 on: July 01, 2013, 03:42:50 AM