Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: What's a good competition piece?  (Read 5522 times)

Offline ngo_dustin

• PS Silver Member
What's a good competition piece?
on: September 02, 2013, 05:04:55 AM
Im a regular student that wants to participate in a piano competition. My repertoire varies from Chopin and Debussy. I am capable of playing a few of their etudes and preludes, and i was wondering what i should play if i want to play for a competition. All comments are appreciated!

Offline awesom_o

• PS Silver Member
Re: What's a good competition piece?
Reply #1 on: September 02, 2013, 02:11:02 PM
A good competition piece is one that the jury does not hear every single day that you also happen to play to the absolute best of your ability.

Offline quantum

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: September 03, 2013, 01:16:28 AM
To play devils advocate: if I were in a competition jury and a competitor did a radically different interpretation (a la Gould) of a hacked-to-death piece, it would seriously interest me.

Back to reality.  Many jurors have difficulty putting their personal interpretations aside, especially with oft played, well-known, apotheosized pieces from the canon.  Awesom_o's, comments are ones to consider.  Even as much as we would like to wish for objective adjudication in a competition, that is not what is always delivered. 

The problem is not that music is open to a diversity of interpretive possibilities.  The problem is that certain adjudicators think that their interpretation is the only one that carries validity.