Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Moonlight sonata 3rd fingering  (Read 15186 times)

Offline walegard

• PS Silver Member
Moonlight sonata 3rd fingering
on: September 03, 2013, 07:39:21 AM
Hiya.

I need a bit of guidance as I'm self taught and trying to teach myself beethoves moonlights sonata 3rd movement.
As I dont read sheet music, I learn from Youtube and Synthesia.
Important to point out is that I havent got short fingers, Ive got normal ones. I can stretch from C to C easily, even C to D.

However, the beginning of the piece(right hand) bothers me because I cant seem to get the "flow" I need/want.
I need particular help with the first three "runs"(dont know what its called) you do with the right hand.

As of watching Youtube, they teach out to use the fingering like this:

1st run: 1235, 1235, 1245
2nd run: 1235, 1245, 1245
3rd run: 1235, 1245, 1245

However for the 1st run, I find that using 1235 all the way gives me the flow I want and its also easier. Is it better for me in the long run to go with "1235, 1235, 1245"?

For the 2nd run, I find it easier doing 1235, 1235, 1245 because it doesnt mean I have to "jump". When doing as they teach, you have to jump with the little finger when going from 1245 to 1245. And it bothers me A LOT because the whole point of fingering is to prevent jumps???

For the 3rd run its the same as for the 2nd run. I wanna use 1235, 1235, 1245, and it also prevents me from "jumping".

Now how do I tackle this? I dont want to learn the wrong way because its going to affect my technique in the long run. But the right way to learn this doesnt suit me, at all

Regards,
Jon

Offline awesom_o