Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: kawai pianos (specifically the US-60)  (Read 8813 times)

Offline anetamrzyglod

• PS Silver Member
kawai pianos (specifically the US-60)
on: September 28, 2013, 07:10:17 PM
So tomorrow I'm having a look at a second hand Kawai US-60, as a beginner I don't know too much about piano specifications. It seems like it's been maintained in the photos. However I'm just wondering a few things about Kawai pianos. Firstly, are they good for a student? Tonally, what do they generally sound like? And will this piano last me all my exam grades?(1-8)

Also, what about the Kawai US-60 in particular. I haven't seen much online, but if you know much about the US series.. feel free to share..

Offline hfmadopter

• PS Silver Member
Re: kawai pianos (specifically the US-60)
Reply #1 on: September 28, 2013, 09:07:06 PM
This video will tell you more about these model pianos than I can. Just keep in mind that otherwise it's relative to condition of the one you are looking at. Obviously we don't know the condition of the one you are looking at. Here is the link : https://search.yahoo.com/search?p=Kawai+US+60+video&ei=UTF-8&fr=moz35

Edit:
Just thought I'd mention that Kawai as a brand is well respected. While  a relatively new product line in the US compared with old names here, they have been around in Japan since the early 1900's. They have gotten more innovative in recent years but most of their pianos have been well regarded, even their latest digital offerings which have won awards world wide for design features, tonality and also acoustic like feel on some models.