Piano Forum

Topic: Switching to Full-Time Teaching  (Read 3230 times)

Offline meli

• PS Silver Member
Switching to Full-Time Teaching
on: December 06, 2013, 03:30:32 AM
Hi guys,

I have been doing part-time teaching for almost 3 years now, and at the moment, teach 10 students as I work full-time. I would like to make the transition to full-time teaching, and hopefully build my own home studio.

Has anyone successfully made a transition to full-time teaching? What problems did you face?  I have been pondering over this for the LONGEST TIME, its scary to make a jump into a totally different career! Being a thinker rather than a doer didn't help either. My first concern is getting the students! But I live in a middle-class area, where there is quite alot of families with young children. I got almost all my students by word of mouth. It all started with teaching the neighbour's son. But if things don't work out, I also was wondering if I should just join a music school first (part-time) and secretly build my own home studio. 

Honestly, I felt its time to leave my current job. I am not happy with my full-time job but it did allow me free time. I put all my energy in teaching and studying music pedagogy and got my teaching diploma.

I would love to hear your experiences and advice. Thanks in advance!

Offline lilla

• PS Silver Member
Re: Switching to Full-Time Teaching
Reply #1 on: December 06, 2013, 06:28:12 PM