Piano Forum

Topic: Further studies for a MA?  (Read 2302 times)

Offline sashr

Further studies for a MA?
on: March 05, 2014, 10:06:31 AM
I am a professional pianist, working as an accompanist. I've graduated (MA) for some years ago but I'd still like someone to give me some feedback and advice. Lately I've been thinking if I could still apply for some further studies. One of my special interests is lied / art song and I'd like to deepen my understanding in that field. But what kind of possibilities are there left for me when I am already 34 years old? Some postgraduate programmes seem to have age limitations but some don't mention anything about the subject. How is it in Britain? In Germany? Other European countries? US? Is there anything I could apply for or should I simply try to find a private teacher? Or forget about it all? I am not interested in doctoral studies as they would take years to complete.

I appreciate every piece of information or advice you may have!

Offline faulty_damper

• PS Silver Member
Re: Further studies for a MA?
Reply #1 on: March 05, 2014, 07:39:41 PM
You don't need a degree for knowledge.  If it is something you are really interested in, you'll probably get a better education if you studied it independent from a school.  A music degree is almost useless and is entirely useless if you don't intend on teaching at a college.

As for the independent study, libraries are incredibly helpful, especially the well-stocked ones.

Offline sashr

Reply #2 on: March 05, 2014, 11:50:03 PM