Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Help with Rondo Alla Turca  (Read 1951 times)

Offline thepianonoob1649

Help with Rondo Alla Turca
on: July 03, 2014, 05:35:26 PM
This is my first post, so I will introduce myself. I am Trevor Du (14 years old) and have been playing the piano for about 5 months. I have devoted my whole life to piano, but I still consider myself a total beginner (seeing people my age who have played 10 years just amazes me).

I have started Rondo Alla Turca about 2 weeks ago and can now play the whole song through, but my teacher keeps telling me that my ornamentation is wrong. Somehow I am not "rolling" the arpeggiated A major, D major, D# diminished, and E major chords correctly. I am also having trouble playing the right hand sixteenth note runs at 120 BPM (allegretto), as my hands just CANNOT move that fast. Also, there are several arpeggiated 1st inversion A major chords with an extra C# (C#,E,A,C#) that I cannot reach.

I don't know if I should just stop trying to learn all of this ornamentation stuff.

Offline j_menz

• PS Silver Member
Re: Help with Rondo Alla Turca
Reply #1 on: July 03, 2014, 10:22:34 PM
Alberti basses and rolled - arpeggiated - chords are not "ornamentation", they are foundational - fundamental.

Keep at it.
"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility. There are so few of us left" -- Oscar Levant

Offline mikeowski

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: July 04, 2014, 12:57:42 AM