Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Teaching creativity (improv, reharm, rhythmic motifs) using Let It Go (Frozen)  (Read 3252 times)

Offline creationrage

I'm a new piano teacher coming from a classical and jazz background. I had an interview with a piano teacher (who rejected me because of my lack of experience) who said a lot of kids want to learn Let It Go, but the sheet music is too hard for them. I like to teach my students songs they want to learn by ear, at varying degrees of difficulty, so hearing this was odd to me.  I teach at another school now, and I've had a bunch of students wanting to learn Let It Go, so I made a version to show them that music is not all about reading notes.

To me, music is about understanding the underlying structures so that you can innovate and transcend the usual musical experiences. Please check this out and let me know what you think! Is this an effective way to reach the kids?

Offline dcstudio

• PS Silver Member
Hi  -- nice chops!!!  8) great vid but you look upside down--might wanna go with the overhead angle on the camera.  Sounds like you dig Chick Corea...may I say WOW-- you scary!

I'm a jazz/classical old piano teacher --  I have had success reaching some kids with this strategy