Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Do you actually enjoy performing?  (Read 2372 times)

Offline sciguy

Do you actually enjoy performing?
on: March 06, 2015, 04:14:35 AM
Hi Everyone,

This is my first post, so be gentle. A bit of background: I'm an adult beginner who has been playing for a few years now.  I have played at various recitals held by my instructors and most of my performances have been (by my own estimation) trainwrecks.  Handfuls of wrong notes, forgetting whole sections of a piece, etc. Only on two occasions can I actually recall having a relatively error free performance.

I realize that my bad performances are to a certain extent my own fault.  From a technical point of view I feel I am well prepared.  The pieces are usually heavily memorized and my technique is not labored. However, I never actually bother to practice the pieces in front of other people.  As I say, I am an adult beginner, who is also a graduate student.  I live alone, am very busy most days, and have no real piano support system.  My practicing tends to remain exclusively a solitary endeavour within the confines the conservatory’s practice rooms (where my lessons are held) isolated from foreign ears.  If I do manage to do some practicing at home in my apartment, it’s by myself at odd hours of the night with headphones plugged into my digital piano (because its an apartment I can't make too much noise).