Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: How to get good audio recording?  (Read 1501 times)

Offline rubinsteinmad

• PS Silver Member
How to get good audio recording?
on: April 08, 2015, 04:07:26 PM
I want to try out recording at home. Does anyone recommend a good microphone or recording thing? I am not that experienced in recording, but I have made many lousy recordings using Audacity :(

Any suggestions for getting a clearer sound etc.?

Offline chopinlover01

• PS Silver Member
Re: How to get good audio recording?
Reply #1 on: April 08, 2015, 04:59:48 PM
Blue snowball mic with audacity works for me.

Offline cbreemer

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: April 08, 2015, 08:41:16 PM
Any of the modern portable Mp3/Wav (Editol, Tascam, Zoom, Olympus, ...) recorder will give very decent results (if not top results) with the built-in microphones. They are worth the outlay if you are serious about recording yourself.

Offline stevensk

Reply #3 on: April 08, 2015, 08:47:22 PM

The positioning of the mics are crusial. Try different angles, locations and distances.
I use two Akg 535c whith good results, an cheep Edirol audiointerface and Cubase

Good luck!

Offline rubinsteinmad

• PS Silver Member
Reply #4 on: April 08, 2015, 09:06:17 PM
Dear cbreemer
    I have a old Zoom (Zoom 2) and the sound doesn't seem to good. Are Olympus and the newer version of Zoom's soundquality better?