Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: alternatives to U.S. copyright?  (Read 1458 times)

Offline michael_sayers

alternatives to U.S. copyright?
on: May 03, 2015, 09:48:38 PM
Hi Everyone,

There is a saying that it isn't wise to place all of one's eggs in one basket. As a composer, I wonder about this in regard to reliance on the U.S. Copyright Office. One can think of scenarios in 2015 such as cyber warfare, and hackers deleting overnight all electronic files and records there. Maybe the data would be recoverable, and maybe there are secure backups, and maybe not. Either way, a loss of the digital records including the date of deposit and for millions of accumulated items, even when a physical score is there in deposit, would not be something that could be recovered from.

And one can ponder other scenarios. With 18 trillion dollars in technical debt plus interest that will be spread out over decades, and growing, I do have concern about the long term political stability of the U.S. I am a U.S. citizen, so this is not intended as criticism of the U.S.A., and yet this and some other unsustainable trends show no indications of reversal and even have accelerated in recent years.

Maybe someone here is aware of alternatives to U.S. copyright, just in case there ever is a "black swan" scenario that impairs the function of U.S. copyrights and also the effective national and international enforcement of them?

Mvh,
Michael

Offline Bob

• PS Silver Member
Re: alternatives to U.S. copyright?
Reply #1 on: May 03, 2015, 10:30:26 PM