Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Does cracking knuckles affect piano playing?  (Read 4051 times)

Offline samuelkarabetian

Does cracking knuckles affect piano playing?
on: June 03, 2015, 04:39:22 PM
Hello

I've always had the bad habit of cracking my knuckles. People tell me that it will make my fingers more stiff but I don't think it has any impact on my piano playing. I've been playing piano for over 8 years and I haven't noticed anything bad happening to my hands. Anyone in a similar situation?

Offline michael_sayers

Re: Does cracking knuckles affect piano playing?
Reply #1 on: June 03, 2015, 04:56:35 PM
Hello

I've always had the bad habit of cracking my knuckles. People tell me that it will make my fingers more stiff but I don't think it has any impact on my piano playing. I've been playing piano for over 8 years and I haven't noticed anything bad happening to my hands. Anyone in a similar situation?

Hi Samuelkarabetian,

To me it intuitively sounds like not a very good thing for a pianist to do.

Mvh,
Michael

Offline michael_c

Reply #2 on: June 04, 2015, 07:09:20 AM
The question of why knuckles pop has just (at last!) been answered: https://www.cnet.com/news/mystery-solved-why-do-knuckles-crack/

From the linked article: