Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Self-taught pianists  (Read 18902 times)

Offline libervir

• PS Silver Member
Self-taught pianists
on: December 16, 2004, 03:02:02 AM
Do you guys know of any self-taught professional concert pianists?

I'd like to know how many on this board are actually self-taught, too.

Offline SteinwayTony

• PS Silver Member
Re: Self-taught pianists
Reply #1 on: December 16, 2004, 05:58:30 AM
Gould claims to have been self-taught, but one of his biographers says otherwise.  Read for yourself:

https://www.mvdaily.com/articles/2004/08/gouldpianist.htm

Offline xvimbi

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: December 16, 2004, 01:59:25 PM
Alfred Brendel

Offline mound

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: December 16, 2004, 02:30:26 PM
Alfred Brendel

you beat me to it! was just going to say that.. to add to it (from his website)

Self-taught

His father then went to Zagreb and became the director of a cinema. Here Alfred Brendel was given his first piano lessons at the age of six from Sofia Dezelic (he also appeared at a children's theatre in Zagreb) and had a succession of early teachers as the family moved on, returning after the War to a place near Graz where Brendel pere worked in a department store.