Piano Forum

The Complete Piano Works of 15 Composers
Piano Street’s digital sheet music library is constantly growing. With the additions made during the past months, we now offer the complete solo piano works by fifteen of the most famous Classical, Romantic and Impressionist composers in the web’s most pianist friendly user interface. Read more >>

Topic: 40 hours of memorized music?  (Read 2908 times)

Offline stormx

• PS Silver Member
40 hours of memorized music?
on: December 17, 2004, 12:34:49 PM
Hi,

some time ago i watched an interview on TV with the professional piano player Bruno Gelber (one of the best in Argentina, along with Argerich and Baremboin).
He stated that he has 40 hours of piano music in his head !!! That is, he claimed he could sit down on the piano and play by heart 40 hours of music (of course, it would be impossible in practice for obvious reasons, but anyway...).
As a non musician (i am just learning piano), i was very impressed by his claiming.

Question:
could it be true, or was he probably exagerating?

Greetings

Offline quasimodo

• PS Silver Member
Re: 40 hours of memorized music?
Reply #1 on: December 17, 2004, 12:53:59 PM
It's probably true, and some great concert pianists likely have more than this.
" On ne joue pas du piano avec deux mains : on joue avec dix doigts. Chaque doigt doit être une voix qui chante"

Samson François

Offline kempff

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: December 17, 2004, 01:30:00 PM
Richter had music to fill 80 recitals in his fingers :o

Kempff+Brendel= GOD

Offline fnork

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: December 17, 2004, 01:44:28 PM
Didn't Horowitz or Richter do like 40-50 recitals in St Petersburg one year when they were young, WITHOUT EVERY PLAYING THE SAME PIECE TWICE?  :o I've been told so... wow.

Offline mound

• PS Silver Member
Reply #4 on: December 17, 2004, 02:27:17 PM
amazing.