Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Yamaha AvantGrand  (Read 4984 times)

Offline steven76

Yamaha AvantGrand
on: December 08, 2015, 07:58:12 AM
Hi everyone,

Im new to this forum and would appreciate a little bit of advice from you guys.  I'm an adult intermediate level player of grade 5 standard. I have been playing for four years. Last year I purchased the yamaha Clavinova CLP 585 which has brilliant sounds and realistic harmonics and reverb etc...  The action is very good with key counterweights and gives good dynamic range but it seems to me to lack that realism compared to acoustic pianos I have tried in music stores. When I have lessons I really struggle to get a decent sound out of my teachers acoustic upright.
Do you think it would be worth upgrading to one of the N1 or N2 avantgrand hybrid pianos?  If so which would be the best piano between these two to help me progress as a player?
Thanks in advance to everyone. Steven

Offline bronnestam

• PS Silver Member
Re: Yamaha AvantGrand
Reply #1 on: December 08, 2015, 01:32:40 PM
Not so sure. Recently I have tried both the CLP 585 and the AG N1. Although the AvantGrand is a bit better in action it is not THAT much better. The 585 has wooden keys and a very nice feeling, no, I wouldn't bother upgrading if I were you. Give it a few years ...

I have also had trouble with my teachers' big old upright ... you know, I think the problem rather is that you have to adapt from grand action to upright action.