Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Focusing/Practicing for Longer  (Read 2048 times)

Offline dratinistar

Focusing/Practicing for Longer
on: January 08, 2016, 01:45:13 AM
Hi,
I'm a sophomore in high school and on weekdays I practice about 3.5 hours and 5-6 hours on weekends and I'm hoping to be participating in more international competitions. I know I need to practice more with the massive amounts of repertoire I have to learn and maintain. On week days I can get on the piano after school at around 5:00 meaning I have a 4.5 hour block of time to practice. However, I am having issues focusing. For the first hour I can focus through pretty much straight then take a ten minute break. For the second hour I need to take a break every 30 min. But by the third hour I get really fidgety and end up wasting a lot of time on breaks when I only have the 4.5 hour block. I've tried just taking a longer break and staying up later but I've realized without my 8.5 hours my focus gets even worse the next day. How can I not get distracted for longer than 15 min when I start to get tired? I definitely do plan my sessions. One of my friends is able to focus and play for three hours straight.
Beethoven:
Sonata no16
Concerto no 3
Schubert Impromptu op142 no1
Chopin:
Nocturne in D flat
Etude op25 no6
Sonata no3
Liszt Wild Jagd
Helps Homage à Faure
RachmaninoffConcerto 2
Mendelssoh

Offline briansaddleback

Re: Focusing/Practicing for Longer
Reply #1 on: January 08, 2016, 07:04:56 PM
Commendable you have the drive to want to focus for longer periods of time on the piano.