Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Digital pianos  (Read 3675 times)

Offline ana86

Digital pianos
on: March 05, 2016, 07:03:53 PM
Hi,

I am a self-thought beginner, and am about to purchase my first piano. Even though I would much prefer an upright, it will have to be a digital one so I can practice without disturbing house members, neighbours etc. My budget is also limited to around £1000 max.

I read a lot of reviews online, narrowed my options and visited a showroom today. I tried a few models, and ended up more confused than I was before I went there. So any advice or opinion would be much appreciated.

The models I tried are:

- Yamaha YDP S52 (£ 749)
- Yamaha CLP-525 (£ 975)

- Roland F140R (£ 779)
- Roland RP401R (£ 925)

As an inexperienced player, I could feel that they are different in sound and touch, but couldn't tell which one is better than the other. What I could definitely feel is that none of them feels like an upright which was a bit disappointing. But I still can't tell which one is the closest in regards to touch and sound to a "real" piano  :P .

So which one of these (or any other in the price range) would you recommend and why?

Maybe I imagined this, but a few things I've noticed are:

- Yamaha YDP S52: keys feel a bit plasticky

- Yamaha CLP 525: did not respond once when I pressed a key very very lightly, but the sound is the best of all four. Playing feels better than YDP S52.