Piano Forum

A Sudden Chat with Paul Lewis about Beethoven & Schubert
Substituting for the suddenly indisposed Janine Jensen, pianist Paul Lewis shares his ideas on his global Schubert project, classical repertoire focus and views on titans Beethoven vs. Schubert. Read more >>

Topic: Memorizing the piece before being able to really read it  (Read 3242 times)

Offline mrdrums

Hi. I am a musician by training but am new to piano. Reading has been moderately difficult meaning that I can read already but getting it on the piano is a struggle.

I have started out with Mozart Menuet KV2 and it seems to be an appropriate level for me.

However I am noticing that I'm memorizing the piece before I can read it well. I can play the first 8 measures but as soon as I look back up at the music I get all fumbly. Is this normal or should I continue to try and play the piece while looking at the music? Or should I just continue to hack away, memorize more of it from the sheet music and the reading will eventually come together?

Offline dcstudio

• PS Silver Member
Re: Memorizing the piece before being able to really read it
Reply #1 on: March 07, 2016, 11:28:03 PM
as long as you are memorizing it correctly that's not a problem... new piano students tend to be either good readers or good players--few are both.    Of the two--the whole idea is to be a good player so don't sweat the reading not being perfect yet.   This attitude comes from old school piano teachers who forbade "ear playing" altogether.   They were there to teach kids to read music and that's it.  There is a belief among outsiders that sight-reading is great playing.. sometimes it is.. but a lot of the time it's not.  (prima vista sight-reading and reading are not the same thing). 

most of the time it's the ear-players that really go the distance...  they learn to read very well later on and then they are the most expressive players.. 

Offline adodd81802

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: March 08, 2016, 03:11:54 PM